Health Care

Deadlines To Note For Your Workers’ Compensation Claim

Blog Post Featured Image

Deadlines To Note For Your Workers’ Compensation Claim

Cardinal Law Partners June 5, 2020

If you are injured on the job, you should report the injury as soon as you can. This will involve some paperwork. Injured workers have 30 days from the date of injury within which to file a report with the North Carolina Industrial Commission.  It cannot be stressed enough that you should do so as soon as possible. The chances of your claim being accepted by the insurance company for your employer improves with early reporting.  A successful workers’ compensation claim usually means the injured worker provided quick notice to both their employer and the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Above all else, as soon as you are injured on the job, verbally report it to your employer. Proper documentation can be completed and filed following emergency treatment (if necessary).

That said, if you decide to file a workers’ compensation claim (and you should if you are injured on the job) there are time limits here as well. A Form 18 claim form should be completed and filed to get the ball rolling.

Work-Related Illness/Disease

Sometimes, an occupational disease/illness/injury develops over time. The proper timely reporting of an injury such as this falls into a somewhat gray area. Take for example carpal tunnel syndrome. Until your physician diagnoses a condition such as this, you may not realize that you actually experienced a work injury. If this happens, it is essential that, as soon you’re aware of it, you give your employer verbal notice and seek treatment by a physician as soon as possible.

Form 18

This form can be completed online. Form 18 is used by the North Carolina Industrial Commission. To file a workers’ compensation claim, it must be completely filled out and filed. To assist in the proper completion and filing of this form, it’s best to consult an attorney who is experienced in workers’ compensation claims. Your claim could take months to go through or even be denied if, regarding an injury or accident, enough detail was not provided, or the wrong wording was used.

Within 30 calendar days, written notice of your workers’ compensation claim should be filed.

What If You Don’t Meet the Deadline?

First of all, meet the deadline! Just on the basis of a late claim, the insurance carrier for your employer could deny workers’ compensation benefits. Once again, consulting with a workers’ compensation attorney immediately after your injury will help assure that all procedures are followed explicitly, forms are submitted in a timely manner, laws are obeyed, etc. Your chances for fair compensation and the proper representation of your rights depends on you finding adequate legal representation.

Your attorney will explain whether or not a 30-day notice rule exception can be made if the deadline is missed.

On the other hand, according to the statute of limitations, there is a two-year time limit in North Carolina for the filing of a workers’ compensation claim. If this seems confusing, that’s because it is. That’s the reason we stress hiring an attorney who is experienced in NC workers’ compensation cases.

Turn to Cardinal Law Partners For Your Workers’ Compensation Claim

For the proper, fair compensation for your injuries in a workers’ compensation claim, Cardinal Law Partners has  experienced, knowledgeable attorneys who handle cases like yours on a daily basis. If you’ve received or experienced an on the job injury or disease, you want your rights represented by an attorney who knows the ropes – inside and out. For a free consultation, contact us today.