Getting hurt at work isn’t anyone’s idea of a good time. No one wants that – not you, not your employer. There are Workers’ Compensation laws in place to protect employees that receive occupational injuries. The way the laws work, both parties are actually protected and represented. Specific rules and requirements must be fulfilled in order for a Workers’ Compensation case to be successful. If not, rulings go in favor of the employer. Acquiring legal representation for your Workers’ Compensation case gives you the best chance of success.
Accidents happen. Financial and medical consequences for an injured worker and their family can be very serious. When is it time to look into the possibility of being represented by a North Carolina Workers’ Comp lawyer that is board-certified? Let’s examine this question more closely…
So You Had an Accident…
When an injury happens at work, the first thing you need to do is, of course, seek medical attention. Almost as importantly, however, you must notify your employer in writing. If, within 30 days of your injury, an accident report is not filed, your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company may find this reason to deny your claim. Even if you were too injured to think about that accident report when you were initially hurt, 30 days is a long time. It’s plenty of time in which to file your report.
It’s Time to Get a Lawyer!
It’s time to consider seeking the assistance of an experienced Workers’ Comp lawyer that is North Carolina certified if the following applies:
- You have received the offer of a clincher agreement or a settlement.
- The negligence of someone other than your employer caused your workplace injury.
- You have questions regarding your wage replacement disability benefits or your medical treatment benefits.
- You will require surgery because of your serious Workers’ Compensation industry and its not expected that you will completely heal, or, if you will miss a significant amount of work.
- You are eligible for FMLA, Social Security Disability, Medicare, or some other benefit.
- You have received a denial on your North Carolina Workers’ Comp claim.
- You’re not sure if the right choices are being made regarding your case and that’s causing you concern.
- You are undecided as to whether you actually have a case that falls under the Workers’ Compensation laws.
Why Do You Need a Lawyer?
Do Workers’ Compensation cases get filed without legal representation? Yes, all the time. However, you may be better off speaking to someone who is familiar with North Carolina court proceedings, acquiring and presenting medical evidence, filing the right paperwork, and has years of experience under their belt.
We are talking about your rights here. You need someone who can represent them with perseverance and tenacity.
The knowledgeable, experienced Workers’ Compensation attorneys at Cardinal Law Partners stand at the ready to represent you in the original filing of your Workers’ Compensation case, or in an appeal, should your original case be denied. Contact us for a free consultation today.