North Carolina Workers’ Compensation laws apply to employers with three more employees (with a few exceptions). These laws were created in order to provide monetary compensation for injured workers that have demonstrated a reduction in their earning capacity. The Workers’ Compensation Act also provides medical treatment to employees. An injured worker may be eligible to receive these benefits if they can show they suffered a compensable injury by accident or occupational disease in the course and scope of their employment.
The North Carolina Industrial Commission has sole jurisdiction in addressing any disputes concerning the benefits an injured worker may be entitled to receive under North Carolina Workers’ Compensation laws. However, there are certain notice requirements and forms that must be filed with the North Carolina Industrial Commission in order to assure an injured worker receives all the benefits they may be entitled to receive as the result of the injury at work.
An employer or their workers’ compensation insurance carrier may also take actions to prevent, terminate, or limit which benefits an injured worker receives as the result of their work injury.
It can be a complicated and confusing process to assure that an injured worker obtains all of the possible benefits they may be entitled to receive as the result of the injury at work. Unfortunately, the North Carolina Industrial Commission is not able to provide legal advice to injured workers.
Call Cardinal Law Partners with any questions about your workers’ compensation claim. We offer free consultations and all four of our attorneys are Board Certified in North Carolina Workers’ Compensation law.
- Your Employer’s Responsibility In Workers’ Comp Cases
- Receiving Workers’ Compensation Benefits In North Carolina
- Determining Your Level Of Disability And Temporary Total Disability Pay
- When And How Workers’ Comp Benefits Are Paid ?
- Communicating With Nurse Case Managers
- Reports Created By Nurse Case Managers
- The Role Of A Nurse Case Manager In A NC Workers’ Comp Case
- What Additional Benefits Can An Injured Worker Obtain In North Carolina?
- What Is The Workers’ Compensation Claims Process In North Carolina?
- “Hacking” Your Workers’ Compensation Claim: What To Do If You’re Injured At Work
- The Benefits Available In Your Workers’ Compensation Claims
- The Timeline of A Workers’ Compensation Claim
- Filing A Claim For Worker’s Compensation Benefits
- Understanding NC Workers’ Compensation Claims
- Workers Compensation In North Carolina
- Workers’ Compensation Laws Across Different Industries In NC
- A Look Into Workers’ Compensation Liability Laws In NC
- How To Pursue A Workers’ Compensation Claim In NC
- How Long Does Someone Have To File A Workers’ Compensation Claim In North Carolina?
- How Are Workers’ Compensation Benefits Calculated In North Carolina?
- What Are The Risks Associated With Handling A Case Without An Experienced North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Attorney?
- Incidents Or Injuries Are Not Covered By Workers’ Compensation Laws In North Carolina
- Workers’ Responsibilities When An Injury Occurs At Work
How Long Does The Employer Have To Decide Whether A Workers’ Compensation Claim Will Be Accepted Or Denied?
Workers’ compensation insurance companies are supposed to accept or deny a claim within 30 days of notice of the claim. However, the insurance company can ask for an extension of time up to 90 days to make a decision. More recently, the trend is for insurance companies to place conditions on their acceptances – they accept claims as “medical only” on a Form 63 or only accept some of the body parts that require treatment.
Are Injured Workers That Do Not Miss Any Work Entitled To Any Benefits?
They certainly could be. If the injury is compensable, the worker might be entitled to medical compensation and possibly even compensation for a disability rating.